IPA’s North Cook Region Elects Dr. Alyssa Shlensky Shapiro of Twain as Elementary School Principal of the Year

February 1, 2023

Topic: Updates

Community Consolidated School District 21 is proud to announce that Dr. Alyssa Shlensky Shapiro, principal of Twain Elementary School, was elected as the North Cook Region of the Illinois Principals Association’s Elementary School Principal of the Year.  The Horace Mann/IPA Principal of the Year recognizes excellence among elementary and middle-level principals, and Shlensky Shapiro was honored due to her perseverance during the COVID-19 pandemic and her daily commitment to putting children first.

“[This is] an amazing honor,” said CCSD21 Superintendent Dr. Michael Connolly. “Think of all the different elementary schools that are in the North Cook region and for her to have been elected amongst her peers … is an amazing achievement and she is extremely deserving of it. Talk to anyone who has the opportunity to have worked with Alyssa at Twain or across the district and they’ll tell you that she is a dedicated, child-centered educator.”

“I am humbled and honored to be awarded the North Cook Elementary Principal of the Year,” said Shlensky Shapiro. “In this role, I always say, ‘it takes a village,’ and this award is truly a tribute to all of the amazing students, staff, families and entire Twain community. I look forward to seeing what the future holds for all of our Eagles!”

Shlensky Shapiro will receive her award and be honored during the IPA’s annual student recognition breakfast on March 3 at Belvedere Events & Banquets in Elk Grove Village. She also becomes a candidate for the Illinois IPA Principal of the Year award, to be announced later this year. Twain students and parents are welcome to attend the March 3 breakfast to celebrate and recognize Shlensky Shapiro as part of the event. The IPA will soon send out additional details on selecting students. The fee is $35 per person, paid by check upon arrival.